Massachusetts Association of Dairy Farmers
Massachusetts Association of Dairy Farmers
Preserving a Massachusetts Way of Life
Massachusetts Association of Dairy Farmers

Nine Massachusetts Counties Designated Primary Natural Disaster Areas Due to Drought

Published on August 22, 2022 in , , ,

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) announced on August 15, 2022, that Secretary Vilsack has designated nine (9) Massachusetts Counties as primary natural disaster areas due to the 2022 drought.

2022 Massachusetts Drought Map

Disaster designation areas for Massachusetts Counties and contiguous states include:

Nine (9) Massachusetts Primary Counties include:

  • Barnstable
  • Essex
  • Plymouth
  • Bristol
  • Middlesex
  • Suffolk
  • Dukes
  • Norfolk
  • Worcester

Three (3) Massachusetts Contiguous Counties include:

  • Franklin
  • Hampden
  • Hampshire

Contiguous Counties in Adjacent States include:

  • Connecticut: Tolland, Windham
  • New Hampshire: Cheshire, Hillsborough, Rockingham
  • Rhode Island: Bristol, Newport, Providence

A USDA Secretarial disaster designation makes farm operators in primary counties and the contiguous counties above eligible to be considered for assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. This assistance includes FSA loans.

Farmers in eligible counties have eight (8) months from the date of the disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans.

More information on assistance is available at Disaster Assistance Programs (

Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with further information. Massachusetts FSA link is available here: Massachusetts State Office (

Image source: USDA/MDAR

«   »

Return to full list of news entries

Massachusetts Association of Dairy Farmers